The Twelve Days of Christmas with Vintage Posters

December 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

We thought it might be fun to narrate a classic Christmas Carol  using posters from our collection.

“On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

A partridge in a pear tree.

original vintage posters

Jules Alexandre-Grun, Cocorico! 1913

On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Two turtle doves & a partridge in a pear tree.

Lait ST

Anonymous, Original Lait “St” Poster c.1950

On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree

La Poule et ses Poussins

Original La Poule es ses Poussins c.1950

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Four Colly birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree

Conord Birds

Original Appliance Poster, Conord c.1960

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allen Jones, Original 1972 Olympics Poster

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Original French Advertising Poster by Cappiello. Printed c.1931.

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

Laden Machines a Laver

Original Guy Georget Poster, Laden c.1960

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

Wherever You Go Drink Milk

Original US Poster by Deacon Gordon, c.1930

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Nine ladies dancing, eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rene Gruau, Lido Bravissimo 1983

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Ten lords a-leaping, nine ladies dancing, eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

loterie nationale grand prix de paris

Bernard Villemot, Loterie Nationale Grand Prix de Paris c.1960

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Eleven pipers piping, ten lords a-leaping, nine ladies dancing, eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.

Wissemborg Clarinet Player

Original Wissemborg Poster c.1870

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me:

Twelve drummers drumming, eleven pipers pipping, ten lords a-leaping, nine ladies dancing, eight maids a-milking, seven swans a-swimming, six geese a-laying, five golden rings, four Colly Birds, three French hens, two turtle doves, & a partridge in a pear tree.”

Wissembourg #199- Bremen Musicians c. 1870

Wissembourg #199- Bremen Musicians c. 1870

This post was designed by Christopher Gonzalez and Elizabeth Norris of Vintage European Posters.  All of the posters in the post are part of our collection, and are available for purchase in our shop at 2201 Fourth Street in Berkeley or on our website vepca.com

We ship anywhere in the world!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Twelve Days of Christmas with Vintage Posters at Vintage European Posters.

meta

